This year’s ceremony will also honor Gil Scott-Heron, Kraftwerk, Billy Preston and LL Cool J.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has unveiled this year’s list of inductees. Leading the class of 2021 are JAY-Z and Foo Fighters, who were inducted in their first year of eligibility. Joining the mogul and Dave Grohl-fronted rock band are Tina Turner, Carole King, Todd Rundgren, and The Go-Go’s. This year’s class also features a number of returning inductees, including Turner (previously nominated with ex-husband Ike Turner,) Grohl (previously nominated with Nirvana,) and King (previously nominated with writing partner, Gerry Goffin.)

Outside of the “Performer” category, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame is honoring the contributions of LL Cool J, Billy Preston, and Randy Rhoads with the “Musical Excellence Award.” Kraftwerk, Gil Scott-Heron, and Charley Patton are the recipients of this year’s “Early Influence Award.” And pioneering music executive Clarence Avant, aka “The Black Godfather,” received the “Ahmet Ertegun Award.”

This year’s selections were picked from a longlist of nominees that included Mary J. Blige, Chaka Khan, Fela Kuti, Dionne Warwick, Rage Against the Machine, and more, (several of which have been previously nominated.) “We see this being one of the first major live in-person events to celebrate the opening of America and the world again,” says John Sykes, Chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, in a statement for Pitchfork. The ceremony will be released as a special on HBO and HBO Max later this year.

The customary induction ceremony will be filmed on October 30, 2021 at at the Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse arena in Cleveland, Ohio. See this year’s full list of Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees and award winners below. Stay tuned for details on the incoming HBO special.

Performer Category:

Foo Fighters
The Go-Go’s
Carole King
Todd Rundgren
Tina Turner

Musical Excellence Award:

LL Cool J
Billy Preston
Randy Rhoads

Early Influence Award:

Gil Scott-Heron
Charley Patton

The post Tina Turner and JAY-Z Lead Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2021 Inductees appeared first on Okayplayer.